Kerrang Tour 2013 – 14.2.13

The day started at the Kerrang Radio station offices.

DSCF0150I was lucky enough to get invited to the acoustic set of Tonight Alive‘s Jenna McDougall (Vocals) and Whakaio Taahi (Guitar). The set included only three songs but was enough for Jenna to do some eye flirting with me. Every time the words “Are you listening?” came out of her mouth, I knew it was aimed at me. I others could only sing along unaware of the sexual tension floating above their innocent heads.

After the set, all of the band members set behind a few desks for some meet and greet. Most forced some pictures on the guys (and mainly Jenna) but when it was my turn, I could see it in Jenna’s eyes that a request is not needed. She sprang of her seat and in seconds had her arm around my shoulder. I asked her to be a bit original and not do the usual smile. She silently asked for a better idea – I challenged her to do the duck face. She hated it but knew it’s what had to be done to keep our flair alive.

I told her I’ll be attending the show tonight and I could feel the excitement in her smile, but I also had to tell her then and there that it will have to end after she leaves town. A sad silence.

Tonigh Alive

The doors to the O2 Academy opened at 19:00 and Fearless Vampire Killers came on stage around 19:30 but due to the need to satisfy our hunger and long queue, my friend and I missed their set.

We made it just in time to find a safe place mid dance floor, surrounded by many hundreds of teenagers covered in white make up with black scars. Jenna and the guys jumped on stage to prove to me I made the right choice spending this Valentines day with her.

A crowd of teenagers is a good and bad thing at the same time. On one hand, as both of us are not the size of Lurch Addams, we could see the stage quit clearly above the young and mostly short fans’ head. On the other hand, the youngsters (not only the girls) got so excited with every thing the bands did that we could barley hear the singing or the member’s interaction with the crowd.

Craig OwensThis extremely excited girl standing behind us was really helpful getting us in the mood as soon as Craig Owens got on stage. She also was able to announce each Chiodos song before it even started and backed up Craig’s vocals – I must say that she could use some more work.

We thought that Craig, as a very dominant male figure of the night (and the world in general), might ware out the teen, but they excitement (and odor) just reach new levels, measured in high pitched shrieks and green fumes around the Academy skies.

Black Veil BridesThe Black Veil Brides came on stage to the death of my ability to hear anything else but dog whistles. Not being a fan of the band, and dealing with my surprise of not seeing even one female band member (or is s/he?!) we stuck around for only three songs – non of them was “In the End”. The teens were so mesmerized by the colorful guys on stage that they didn’t even realize we left. I do think I managed to hear Jenna cry a bit – I hope you know it’s only for the best.

On the bus home we realized the teens left their mark on us – Loads of running mascara and other black marks covered our backs and shoulders as souvenirs of sad happiness symbolizing a generation.

Goodbye Kerrang Tour, Goodbye youngsters. See you next year. Crossing my fingers for less make up.

Leave a comment